2012 Recipients of the PresidentialVolunteer Service Award

The Chicago Ridge Emergency Management Agency proud to announce that the unit has recieved the Presidential Volunteer Service Award.

Click below to see the pictures


Today the Chicago Ridge Emergency Management is being awarded the Presidentís Volunteer Service Award, a national honor offered in recognition of volunteer service.

 Established in 2003, the Award is available on an annual basis to individuals, groups and families who have met or exceeded requirements for volunteer service and have demonstrated exemplary citizenship through volunteering. 

 The Chicago Ridge Emergency Management Agency has a long history of volunteer service, and more than 20 volunteer officers perform community service for this Village each year on behalf of the organization with the unit obtaining 11,532 hours with personal achievements in hours for Commander Bryan Pudinoff with 2,632 hours and Lieutenant Mike Attar with over 1,600 hours.

 In his 2002 State of the Union Address, President George W. Bush created the USA Freedom Corps, and called on every American to make a lifelong commitment to volunteer service.  Chicago Ridgeís EMA volunteers work to make our communities stronger and safer. The Chicago Ridge EMA is proud to be aligned with this prestigious volunteer award, and we are especially proud of our volunteers who have made volunteer service a central part of their lives.

   These recipients of the Presidentís Volunteer Service Award are role models for all Americans.  Each volunteer hour contributed makes a difference in improving the quality of life for others, and I encourage everyone to contribute to our community by volunteering.  Volunteers bring us closer together as families, as communities and as a Nation, through their commitment.

 The Award is issued by the Presidentís Council on Service and Civic Participation, a group created by President Bush to recognize the valuable contributions volunteers are making to our Nation.  Chaired by two-time Super Bowl Champion Darrell Green, with former U.S. Senators Bob Dole and John Glenn as honorary co-chairs, the Council comprises leaders in government, media, entertainment, business, education, nonprofits and volunteer service organizations, and community volunteering.